News Room

Media Releases

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

People learn, both within and beyond the college classroom. The concept of “recognition of learning” refers to the role higher education institutions can play in recognizing the learning that occurs outside of a campus classroom. Practices can range from portfolio assessment and credit by examination for knowledge gained from education and training providers such as the military or employers—in ways that count towards a degree or other credential.

Thursday, January 24, 2019

Five new commissioners were recently appointed to the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE), a federal interstate compact of 16 Western states and territories that work collaboratively to expand educational access and excellence for all citizens of the West.  

Friday, January 18, 2019

America’s largest interstate higher education tuition-savings programs set records in 2018-19 for students enrolled and dollars saved. More than $417.7 million was saved by 42,579 students on three programs managed by the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) across its 16 member states and territories, the agency announced today.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

BOULDER—North Dakota State Sen. Ray Holmberg of Grand Forks, N.D. was elected Nov. 9 as the new chair of the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE), at WICHE’s biannual commission meeting last week in Broomfield, Colo. WICHE, a federal compact of Western states and U.S. Pacific territories and freely associated states, works collaboratively to expand higher education access and excellence throughout the West.

Friday, November 9, 2018

BOULDER, CO—The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) has appointed Dr. Demarée Michelau president of the regional interstate higher education agency serving 16 Western members, including U.S. states, territories, and freely associated states and their 80 million residents.

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) Behavioral Health Program and the University of North Dakota College of Nursing and Professional Disciplines have been selected by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Service Administration (SAMHSA) to co-administer a new Mountain Plains Mental Health Technology Transfer Center (MH–TTC).

The selection is accompanied by a five-year funding commitment of $3.8 million. The Mountain Plains (Region 8) encompasses Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, and Utah.