The WICHE Commission

The WICHE Commission oversees the development of WICHE programs and assures that the Western Regional Compact is carried out for the benefit of the citizens of the West. WICHE’s 48 commissioners are appointed by the governors of the 15 Western states and the U.S. Pacific Territories and Freely Associated States. The commissioners are leaders in higher education and include state higher education executive officers, college and university presidents, legislators, business and community leaders, and other key partners. In accordance with the organization’s bylaws, the WICHE Commission has three primary responsibilities:

  • Fiduciary duty, including oversight of the organization’s finances
  • Provide strategic direction for the organization through approval of WICHE’s annual Workplan
  • Select and evaluate the WICHE president

The commission also appoints members of the WICHE Legislative Advisory Committee which, though not technically a formal commission committee, is composed of WICHE-region legislators as well as several commissioners.


Upcoming WICHE Commission Meetings

May 17-18 (Arizona)
November 4-5 (Portland, OR)

May 16-17 (South Dakota)
November 10-11 (Colorado)

View Previous Meeting Agenda Books

WICHE Commissioners

*Executive Committee Member


* Susan Anderson

WICHE Commission Chair, President/CEO, The CIRI Foundation

James Johnsen

Former President, University of Alaska System

Donn Liston

Commissioner, Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education


John Arnold

Executive Director, Arizona Board of Regents

* Rita Cheng

President, Northern Arizona University

Kathleen Goeppinger

President/CEO, Midwestern University


Christopher Cabaldon

Professor, Sacramento State University

Ellen Junn

President, California State University, Stanislaus

* Robert Shireman

Director of Higher Education Excellence and Senior Fellow, The Century Foundation


Jim Chavez

Executive Director, Latin American Educational Foundation

* Antwan Jefferson

Clinical Associate Professor, University of Colorado Denver

Angie Paccione

Executive Director, Colorado Department of Higher Education


* David Lassner

WICHE Commission Vice Chair, President, University of Hawai'i

John Morton

Vice President Emeritus, Community Colleges of the University of Hawai'i

Colleen Sathre

Vice President Emeritus, University of Hawai'i


* Rick Aman

President, College of Eastern Idaho

Matt Freeman

Executive Director, Idaho State Board of Education

Dave Lent

Senator, Idaho State Legislature


Laurie Bishop

Representative, Montana State Legislature

* Clayton Christian

Commissioner of Higher Education, Montana University System

Sheila Stearns

Past President, University of Montana


Cathy Dinauer

Executive Director, Nevada State Board of Nursing

* Fred Lokken

Professor, Truckee Meadows Community College

Thom Reilly

Former Chancellor, Nevada System of Higher Education


* Barbara Damron

Chief Government Relations Officer and Professor, University of New Mexico

Mark Moores

Senator, New Mexico State Legislature

Patricia Sullivan

Associate Dean for Outreach and Recruiting, College of Engineering, New Mexico State University


* Mark Hagerott

Chancellor, North Dakota University System

Ray Holmberg

Senator, North Dakota State Legislature

Jill Louters

Superintendent, New Rockford-Sheyenne School District


Ben Cannon

Executive Director, Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission

* Camille Preus

WICHE Commission Immediate Past Chair, Executive Director, Oregon Community College Association

Hilda Rosselli

Educational Policy Consultant


Brian Maher

Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer, South Dakota Board of Regents

* Larry Tidemann

Representative, South Dakota Legislature

Diana VanderWoude

Senior Executive Director; Learning, Education & Development (LEAD), Sanford Health


* Frankie Eliptico

Interim President, Northern Marianas College

Jude Hofschneider

Senator, Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands Legislature

Rodney Jacob

Attorney, Partner, Calvo Fisher & Jacob LLP


Patricia Jones

CEO, Women's Leadership Institute and member of the Utah Board of Regents

* Ann Millner

Senator, Utah State Legislature

David Woolstenhulme

Commissioner of Higher Education, Utah System of Higher Education


* Don Bennett

Deputy Director, Washington Student Achievement Council

Gerry Pollet

Representative, Washington State Legislature

Les Purce

President Emeritus, The Evergreen State College


* Fred Baldwin

Senator, Wyoming State Legislature

Kimberly Dale

President, Western Wyoming Community College Rock Springs

David Jones

Dean, College of Health Sciences, University of Wyoming

Full agendas for the WICHE Commission biannual meetings and related committee materials are available for review and download here.

For more information, please contact:

Laura Ewing

Executive Assistant to the President and to the Commission