W-SARA Regional Steering Committee (RSC)

A coordinated regional approach to the state-level administration of SARA

The W-SARA RSC’s key functions include evaluating and determining whether WICHE states and territories that apply to and participate in SARA demonstrate adequate capacity and sufficient standards for membership and oversight of institutions under SARA. The RSC also serves as a regional platform for the consideration of emerging SARA- and distance education-related issues, as a forum to bring state and regional issues to the attention of the NC-SARA Board and leadership, as well as to support the professional development of its members.

Alicia Armijo
Constituent Services Coordinator &
New Mexico NC-SARA Coordinator
Legal Division
New Mexico Higher Education Department
Lanna Dueck (chair)
Executive Director
Arizona SARA Council
Bobbi Lum-Mew
Program Administrator
Hawaiʻi Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program
Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
Tamara Baysinger
State Authorization Manager
Idaho State Board of Education
Veronica Dujon
Director, Office of Private Postsecondary Education
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission
Patricia Nickell-Zimmerman
Institutional Authorization Coordinator
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
Terina Caserto
Senior Analyst, Academic and Student Affairs
Nevada System of Higher Education
Cynthia “Cyd” Grua
Director, Instructional Technology
Utah System of Higher Education
Hae Okimoto
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs &
Director of Academic Technologies
University of Hawaiʻi System
Heather DeLange
Director – Office of Private Postsecondary Education
Colorado Department of Higher Education
Katie Hubbart
Academic Affairs Specialist
South Dakota SARA Coordinator
South Dakota Board of Regents
Joe Thiel
Director of Academic Policy & Research
Montana University System
Rob Dennis
Chief Operating Officer
Wyoming Community College Commission
Sam Loftin (vice chair)
Director of Consumer Protection
Washington Student Achievement Council

W-SARA Staff

Christina Sedney

Director of Policy Initiatives and State Authorization, Policy Analysis and Research



Shelley Plutto

Project Coordinator, W-SARA, Policy Analysis and Research