Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE)

Female student resting chin on stack of text books.

  • Students who are residents of WICHE states are eligible to request a reduced tuition rate of 150% of resident tuition at participating two- and four-year college programs outside of their home state.
  • The WUE reduced tuition rate is not automatically awarded to all eligible candidates. Many institutions limit the number of new WUE awards each academic year, so apply early!
  • WICHE members include: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.


  1. See list of participating WUE schools (TIP: Use the "School Search" link below to search by major and state.)
  2. Apply directly to the WUE institution(s) of your choice.
  3. There is no need to register on the WICHE site!





Want a job in 2025?

Many people don’t realize that America is facing a shortage of college graduates. To meet economic demand, we need 11 million more credentials by 2025 than we can currently produce. http://b-gat.es/1FkWH7C