Western Academic Leadership Forum logoForum Members

Provost or chief academic officer represents each member

Each member appoints an official representative to the Forum. From the pool of each state’s representatives, one is selected to serve on the 16-member Executive Committee.

*Executive Committee Member 


Official Representative Member
John Stalvey University of Alaska Anchorage
Stephanie Butler Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
Karen Carey* University of Alaska Southeast
Paul Layer University of Alaska System
Official Representative Member
Gail Burd* University of Arizona
Loren Blanchard* California State University System
Brian Jersky California State University, Long Beach
Fran Horvath California State University, Monterey Bay
Mary Walker California State University, Northridge
Carl Kemnitz California State University San Marcos
Lisa Vollendorf Sonoma State University
Elizabeth Simmons University of California, San Diego
Official Representative Member
Bill Henry* Metropolitan State University of Denver
Rick Miranda Colorado State University
Mohamed Abdelrahman Colorado State University – Pueblo
Official Representative Member
Debora Halbert* University of Hawai’i System
Michael Bruno University of Hawai’i – Manoa
Jeffrey Moniz University of Hawai’i – West O’ahu
Official Representative Member
Tony Roark Boise State University
Laura Woodworth-Ney* Idaho State University
Lori Stinson Lewis-Clark State College
John Wiencek University of Idaho
Official Representative Member
Robert Mokwa Montana State University, Bozeman
Jon Harbor University of Montana
Steve Gammon Montana Technical University
Melinda Arnold Montana State University Billings
Deborah Hedeen University of Montana, Western
Brock Tessman* Montana University System
Official Representative Member
Crystal Abba Nevada System of Higher Education
David Shintani* University of Nevada, Reno
Diane Chase University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Vickie Shields Nevada State College
Official Representative Member
Jamie Laurenz Eastern New Mexico University
James Holloway University of New Mexico
Jack Crocker Western New Mexico University
Carol Parker* New Mexico State University
Ivan Lopez-Hurtado Northern New Mexico State College
Official Representative Member
Margaret Dahlberg Valley City State University
Laurie Geller Minot State University
Debbie Storrs* University of North Dakota
Official Representative Member
Susan Jeffords Portland State University
Edward Feser Oregon State University
Veronica Dujon* State of Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission
Sarah Witte Eastern Oregon University
Joanna Mott Oregon Institute of Technology
Susan Walsh Southern Oregon University
Rob Winningham Western Oregon University
Official Representative Member
Chris Crawford Black Hills State University
Michael Wanous Northern State University
Dennis Hedge South Dakota State University
Joelle Lien* South Dakota Board of Regents
Kurt Hackemer University of South Dakota
Official Representative Member
Michael Lacourse Dixie State University
Daniel Reed University of Utah
Julia Hartley Utah System of Higher Education
David Connelly* Utah Valley University
Official Representative Member
David May Eastern Washington University
Renny Christopher* Washington State University
Lynn Franken Central Washington University
Official Representative Member
Anne Alexander* University of Wyoming
Official Representative Member