Interstate Passport | Creative Expression Interstate Faculty Team

Phase II Passport Interstate Faculty Team Members:

Creative Expression


Photo of Paul Wickline

Paul Wickline
Theatre Department Chair/Academic Senate President
College of the Canyons


Paul Wickline has served as the department chair of the theatre program at College of the Canyons since 2008 and the outcomes assessment coordinator since 2010. Wickline currently serves as the president of the Academic Senate. Previously he served as the Artistic Director of the Walla Walla Community College theatre program (2003-2007). Recently, he was selected to participate in the AAC&U Faculty Collaboratives project. Wickline received his BA in Education with endorsements in Theatre and English from Western Washington University and an ME (Master Teacher in Theatre) from Central Washington University. In 2013 he completed the Certificate in Community College Professional Leadership at Claremont Graduate University.


Photo of Susan LumSusan Lum
Professor of English Literature
Leeward Community College


Susan Lum is a Professor of English Literature at Leeward Community College.  Born and raised in Monterey Park, CA, Lum moved to Hawaii in 1989 and earned a BA and MA in English at the University of Hawaii, Manoa.  Lum has taught in the division of Arts and Humanities at Leeward CC since 1994 and is a proud recipient of the 2013 Regents Medal for Excellence in Teaching.  Lum currently serves as Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate.

Photo of Wojciech LorencWojciech Lorenc
Assistant Professor
University of Hawaii West Oahu


Wojciech Lorenc has been an Assistant Professor in Creative Media at University of Hawaii West O’ahu since August, 2014.  Previously he taught in the Television Department at Columbia College Chicago for 11 years.  Lorenc received his MFA in Digital Cinema from DePaul University.

North Dakota

J. Greg Brister
Assistant Professor Language and Literature
Valley City State University

J. Gregory Brister is an Assistant Professor of English at Valley City State University in Valley City, North Dakota.  Brister received his BA in English from Hamline University in Saint Paul, Minnesota, his MA in English from St. Cloud State University in Saint Cloud, Minnesota, and his PhD in English from the University of Kansas.

Photo of Charlette Moe

 Charlette Moe
 Assistant Professor of Music
 North Dakota State University


Charlette Moe joined the NDSU Music faculty in the fall of 2008. She serves as a coordinator for the Masters of Music in Music Education degree, teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in music and choral education and supervises student teachers. Dr. Moe is also the conductor of Cantemus, the NDSU women's choir, and University Chamber Singers. Dr. Moe received a Bachelor of Music degree in music education  from Concordia College, a Master of Science degree in music education from Minnesota State University Moorhead and a Doctorate of Music in conducting from North Dakota State University. She holds a Kodály Mastery Certificate from St. Thomas and since 2012 she has been a faculty member at the Kodály Institute at Minnesota State University. Previous to her appointment at NDSU, she was adjunct faculty at Concordia College and Minnesota State University Moorhead. 

Photo of Michael PhillipsOregon

Michael Phillips (CHAIR)
Associate Professor of Theatre
Western Oregon University

Michael Phillips has been a professor of theatre at Western Oregon University since 2003, where he teaches theatre history, directing and musical theatre.  He is also the artistic director of Portal Theatre, which specializes in devised, original work.  Phillips is deeply engaged in public science, exploring ways to communicate science through theatre.  Previously, he was on the faculty of Millersville University of Pennsylvania.  Phillips received his B.S.E. from Arkansas State University in Speech Communication and Dramatic Art, his MA in Theatre from Western Washington University, and his PhD in Theatre from the University of Oregon.

Photo of Diane TarterDiane Tarter
Professor of Art
Western Oregon University

Diane Tarter has taught graphic design and visual art fundamentals at Western Oregon University for over 20 years. While continuing her duties as a professor, Tarter served as Art Department Head from 1994 –97 and 2003–04, as Chair of the Creative Arts Division from 2005–2011, and as Interim Dean of the College of Liberal Arts for six months in the spring and summer of 2013. Tarter received her Bachelor of Theatre degree from Willamette University and an MFA in Visual Design from the University of Oregon.

Photo of Alan MontgomerySouth Dakota

Alan Montgomery
Professor of Art
Dakota State University

Alan Montgomery is a Professor of Art at Dakota State University in Madison, South Dakota. He began as assistant professor in 2000 and now serves as a full professor with tenure. Alan teaches courses in the Digital Arts and Design program at DSU. The DAD program boasts over 140 majors in five specializations. Alan has his work in a number of private and public collections and is the curator and director of the DSU First Bank & Trust Gallery. Montgomery received his BFA and MA from Minnesota State University-Mankato, and his MFA in painting from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. 


Photo of Miguel Chuaqui
 Miguel Chuaqui
 University of Utah


Miguel Chuaqui is the Director of the School of Music at the University of Utah. His music, which includes orchestral, chamber, vocal, and electroacoustic works, has been performed across the US and abroad.  He has received commissions from the Fromm Foundation at Harvard University, the Koussevitzky Foundation at the Library of Congress, the Utah Arts Council (NEA), Meet the Composer, and from US and international performers and ensembles. Chuaqui studied piano at the Escuela Moderna de Música and the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, majored in Mathematics and Music at the University of California at Berkeley,studied electroacoustic music at CNMAT (Center for New Music and Audio Technologies), and went on to complete his PhD in Composition with composer Andrew Imbrie. 

Photo of Jessica Curran Jessica Curran
 Assistant Professor
 Salt Lake Community College

Jessica Curran is an Assistant Professor at Salt Lake Community College. She teaches Graphic Communications courses in the Visual Art & Design department for the School of Arts, Communication & Media. She is currently serving in her fourth year at the college. Before relocating to Salt Lake City, she spent several years working in commercial printing while moonlighting as an adjunct instructor at Kean University, Ocean County College, Kean @ Ocean, Camden County College, and Gloucester County College. Jessica earned BS in Graphic Design with a minor in Graphic Communications Technology from California University of Pennsylvania and a MS in Graphic Communications Technology Management from Kean University.  


Photo of Daniel Maw Daniel Maw
 Instructor, Art
 Laramie County Community College

Daniel Maw has served as Chair of Fine Arts, Humanities and Philosophy at Laramie County Community College since 2014 where he has also been an Instructor of Art since 2012. He teaches a variety of courses, including Beginning Drawing, 2D Foundations, 3D Foundations, Illustration, Printmaking, Water-Based Media, General Art, and General Art History. Previously, Maw was an Instructor of Art in Foundations at Bowling Green State University. Maw received an MFA from the University of Tennessee and a BFA at the University of Iowa where he also earned his initial K-12 Teaching License.