Interstate Passport | Expanding the Geographic Reach of Interstate Passport

In the 1950s the U.S. Congress authorized four regional compacts to facilitate resource sharing among the higher education institutions and entities. These include the New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE), the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB), and the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (see below). Although Interstate Passport originated in the WICHE region, students transfer across state lines to and from all regions of the country. Thus, Interstate Passport is designed to expand to a nationwide system. In preparation for that expansion, over 50 new institutions in six states in the other regional compacts joined the program in 2015-2016 in development and implementation efforts. With the completion of the Interstate Passport PLO framework in 2016, membership in the Interstate Passport Network is open to all regionally accredited institutions in the country.

See Applying for Interstate Passport Network member status

Higher Education Regional Compacts in the United States map
Higher Education Regional Compacts in the United States
Long Description


Passport Tri-Region Coordinator
Jane Sherman (retired)
Vice Provost for Academic Policy and Evaluation
Washington State University, and
Associate Director for Academic Policy
Washington Council of Presidents

Midwestern Higher Education Coordinating Compact Representative
Jennifer Dahlquist
Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
Midwestern Higher Education Compact

New England Board of Higher Education Representative
Stafford Peat
Senior Consultant
New England Board of Higher Education

Southern Regional Educational Board Representative
Cheryl Blanco
Vice President for Postsecondary Education
Southern Regional Education Board