New Commissioners

WICHE is pleased to welcome several new commissioners. We also wish to express our deep gratitude to nine retiring commissioners for all they’ve done for WICHE and for higher education in the West: Alaska’s Pat Heller and Marshall Lind; Arizona’s Joel Sideman; California’s Jim Silva; Idaho’s Arthur Vailas; Montana’s Dan Harrington, Mary Moe, and Kerra Melvin; and New Mexico’s Dede Feldman. Our new commissioners include the following.

*Alaska: Susan Anderson, president, The CIRI Foundation, Anchorage; and James Johnsen, senior vice president of administration, Doyon, Limited, Fairbanks.

*Arizona: Tom Anderes, president, Arizona Board of Regents, Phoenix.

*Hawaii: Steven Wheelwright, president of BYU-Hawaii, Laie.

*Idaho: M. Duane Nellis, president, University of Idaho, Moscow.

*Montana: Sheila Stearns, commissioner of higher education, Montana University System, Helena; Clayton Christian, chair, Montana Board of Regents, and CEO, Stewart Title, Missoula; and Kim Gillan, state senator, Billings.

*New Mexico: Susanna Murphy, secretary of education, New Mexico Public Education Department, Santa Fe.

View current WICHE Commissioners